Picture
The week of the Fourth I had a few students attend lessons, but for most it was an off week for vacations.  But instead of an excuse not to practice, I used the holiday to encourage celebrating their skills!

I e-mailed all of my students links to Susan Paradis' Fourth of July activities with the promise of an item from the prize box if they composed a song.  (I had two girls come to lessons that week before with their songs already done!)

Those attending lessons also received a short fine motor craft time to create "Make a Blast Warm-Ups!" bookmarks.  They used their fine motor skills and finger muscles to color in a firework of stars and eighth notes, peel and place a sticker to the bottom, hole punch a hole at the top that they then threaded a ribbon through, added beads to, and knotted.  After explaining the warm-up activities listed on their bookmarks I sent them home to practice away!

Click here for the .pdf of 6 bookmarks with teacher instructions.




Leave a Reply.